About Us

Benchspace is a creative hub in Cork City. It was established to provide affordable access to workbenches and professional standard machinery to hobbyists, learners, makers and designers.

Benchspace Cork is the first co-making space of its kind in Ireland, the project is inspired by similar successful projects in Holland, the UK and Australia. Such projects have turned post-industrial spaces into seed-beds for a new generation of creators, designers, and techies. Our space is in the former Ford factory in Cork which has a tangible heritage as a centre of commerce and production.

Benchspace exists to allow makers turn their passions into their professions. If you want to start your own fine woodworking or craft business then we’d like to help to providing space and equipment at an affordable price. Instead of many individual bills, we charge one fee to cover all of your machine, space, power, waste and workshop insurance costs. We work hard to keep this fee as small as possible. You can contact us and see how we can help you.

Our ambition is to create an incubation space for new creative businesses, thereby fostering employment and contributing to the cultural and economic fabric of the City.

For the part time makers, hobbyists and creatives. We offer Classes & Workshops in everything from Traditional Joinery and Modern Machine Making to 3D printing and getting started with the Andruino/Raspberry Pi. You can see our current offerings here.

We also offer twice monthly Open Making Sessions where members can come along and work on their own projects.

If you have any questions, check out our FAQ and feel free to contact us

The Benchspace Team.

Thank you to the following have given time, effort, support and advice since we started this project:

Aideen Quirke
Kim Morris
Cathy Bucannon
Dennis Barret
Orla Flynn
Mary McCarthy
Siubhán McCarthy
Des Cahill
Adrienne Rodgers
John Riordan
Ray Dennehy
Derek Coughlan
Joe Somers
Rory Drinan
Dermot Delaney
Tim Hegarty
Michael McFadden
Dave O’Flynn

Nicole Albersmann
Audrey Barrett
Linda Beirne
Lorna Bourke
Stephen Brazil
Sean Breen
Ailbhe Bruen
Des Bruen
Joe Bruen
David Butler
Eleanor Cahalane
Lorenzo Cammoranesi
Vicky Chan
Holcon Construction
Brendan Corcoran
Ursula Corcoran
Mark Coughlan
Steve Cox
Claire Cronin
Claire Davis
Colm Dawson
Mike Dawson
Denis Dennehy
Oisin Doyle
Rory Drinan
Brigid Farrell
Garrett Farrell
Robert Farrell
Naomi Fein
Anna Flanagan
Roisin Foley
Conor Gossage
Shane Goulding
Jonathan Harrington
Martina Holtby Conway
Aoife Houston
Hollie Kearns
Roger Kelleher
Kevin Kelly
Lisa Kelly

John Mc Carthy
Julia Mc Carthy
Eoghan McCarthy
Josephine McCourt
Linda McCrann
Mick McElligott
Michael McFadden
Ronan McGrath
Raymond Murphy
Oliver Nash
Kellie Naughton
Jerry O Brien
John O’ Shea
Donal O Sullivan
Rory O’Brien
Ross O’Brien
Fergus O’Callaghan
Tom O’Donnell
Des O’Donoghue
Eoin O’Donovan
Eoghan O’Neill
Finbarr O’Regan
Jason O’Shaughnessy
Ita O’Sullivan
Avril Purcell
Patrick Reynolds
Ed Riordan
john riordan
Jeffrey Roe
David Scannell
Fergus Somers
Mike Spillane
Ronan Thompson
Michelle Toomey
Stephanie Tormey
Louise Walsh
Jeremy Kiely
Billy Lee
Jan Lojack
Sharon Lojack
Jeremy Madden
Brian Mc Auliffe